Lately I have been struggling with my body imbalances again. My only health problems are these – indigestion, acne-prone skin and MENSTRUATION IRREGULARITY. I suffered from amenorrhea for 3 years after my anorexia period and during my first vegan attempts. Then I healed myself. Now it is back again and now I am finally starting to understand it.

My body constitution from ayurveda is Pitta-Kapha. But my body and also mind imbalance is VATA. And that is very much what is AMENORRHEA caused by.

I was googling through many articles about it, so I will write some of the facts here, I hope it will help someone as well. Amenorrhea (or at least in my case, I think!) is caused by low pitta dosha and too much vata. (My basic body constitution is pitta but my lifestyle and diet is very much the opposite and I suffer from cold feet/hands, thin nails…etc).

vata image

Causes of too much vata (and blocks of menstrual channels) can be: the ones in Italics are mine

  • stress, anger, tension, travelling, emotional duress, changing of school/job
  • increase of cold temperament od body
  • excessive lethargy, sedentary lifestyle
  • vata promoting diet

Vata increasing diet: (Basically all I eat… dry grains, no oils, cruciferous vegetables, flour, yeast, dried fruit, corn, peas…)

  • cold, light, dry, airy foods (basically low-fat vegan lifestyle,lol)
  • gas forming vegetables (cabbage, broccoli, beans, lettuce, peas, cauliflower…) – I have been eating them lately a lot
  • yeast-based products – also a thing which I eat few times a week when heaving some store bough whole grain breadrolls
  • white flour, white sugar – yes yes, white sugar in teas in tearoom where I work

Some other interesting factors which can cause amenorrhea:

  • excessive exercise
  • artificial subjects for orgasm (that’s interesting one!)
  • no exercise
  • cold temperature

And here is the list of the things, which I resonate with and I believe can be helpful:

  • warm, moist meals – veggie, miso soups, stews, grains cooked with lots of water, herbal teas
  • drinking warm and hot water during the day
  • nutritious but easily digested foods
  • taking flax-seeds (or psyllium) for better digestion and fatty acids
  • ayurvedic herbal supplements – Triphala, Shatavari
  • hot and spicy foods, cooked in oil (vegetable oil or ghee – I will stay vegan, so just vegetable ones)
  • SPICES (very important one) : black pepper, cinnamon, coriander, cardamom, fennel, ginger, cumin, clove, celery and mustard seed, garlic
  • avoid eating old, cold and dry foods!!!! (that means foods from yesterday, too much bread, dried fruits…)
  • avoid using dry cooking methods – not enough water, sauteeing, baking, grilling (yes yes, my “dry” frying and sauteeing all the time, no soups, no oils)
  • don’t skip breakfast (have been doing this and then I always had heavy dinner, which is absolute opposite of what is good for my digestion)
  • not so much raw fruits, veggies, salads

So basically, to balance VATA:

  • eat warm foods, with added fat (coconut, sesame oil)
  • warm soups, stews, freshly baked bread
  • have heavier breakfast – something warm, milky and sweet (cooked oatmeal with almond milk and rice syrup and cinnamon for example)
  • sweet fruits – bananas, peaches, figs, mangos, persimmons, soaked raisins, melons
  • avocados
  • nut butters
  • cold-pressed, fresh sesame oil
  • root vegetables – beets, carrots, yams, potatoes; pumpkins, celery, turnips, mushrooms, squash, garlic, onion
  • beans in moderation (well soaked and cooked) – chickpeas, pink lentils
  • molasses, brown rice syrup
  • spices mentioned before 🙂 + basil, caraway, anise, thyme, allspice, nutmeg, horseradish
  • hot herbal teas, warm flax or rice milk
  • soaked and well cooked grains – basmati rice, brown rice, oats, wheats, couscous

food-holding-bowl-of-soup-crop

Just to mention- I am not a proffesional and this is just what I found on the Internet because I want to make changes and be happy. Menstruation is a very important thing for me, if it would mean to stop being vegan I will do it. You can judge me, but it is my health and my decisions. Anyways no need to do that, I am staying vegan, love animals and don’t want to promote animal cruelty. I believe that this can be solved with just some changes of fat intake, cooking methods, supplementing(ayurvedic tea, pills and evening primrose oil + psyllium), adding more spices and also include – OILY massages of my body, drinking tons of fluids, exercising yoga for fertivility improvement.

I will write about my healing journey soon and how has my diet and health changed. I miss that feminine part of me – menstrual flow, releasing, relaxing… ❤ I hope this gift will get back to me very very soon.

full moon meditate

